Skip to main content

Virtual Opening: 2021 Rutsch Award Winner Matthew Cole Solo Exhibition

May 20, 2021

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Join us for a virtual opening reception for the solo exhibition of works by Matthew Cole, 2021 Alexander Rutsch Award Winner. This event includes a live gallery tour of the exhibition–including a selection of works by Alexander Rutsch–and an open Q&A with the artists and members of the Rutsch judging panel.



Matthew Cole, Bedford Stuyvesant, 2019. Acrylic on canvas. 44h x 39w in

Cole employs traditional painting and preliminary printmaking methods to interpret memories of actual and subconscious events – amalgamations of real life and fantasy, often stemming from profound personal experiences. The processes of layering and distorting are instrumental in conveying emotion in his work. The artist uses composite imagery to represent the fragmented nature of memory, narrated through personal as well as familiar references from art history.


This event is free and open to the public. Learn more about the exhibition here




The biennial Alexander Rutsch Award and Exhibition for Painting is a juried competition open to U.S.-based artists age 19 and older. Pelham Art Center proudly sponsors this competition and award honoring the memory and artistic achievement of artist Alexander Rutsch (1916 – 1997). Rutsch actively supported Pelham Art Center for more than 25 years. After his death, friends, family and supporters established a generous fund to support a biennial, open, juried competition in painting. Now in its 10th year, Sarah McKenzie was selected from among ten finalists and 467 total applicants from across the country to receive this prestigious award.


Make a tax-deductible gift to support our free community programming.